Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Jessica Lemmon - Fighting for Devlin

This is a new-to-me author and I was intrigued by the book's summary! I will definitely be keeping my eyes peeled for the next book of the series! This book had me completely captivated from the very beginning.  I enjoyed how the book flipped back and forth from Rena and Devlin's POV. Devlin is a strong, sexy alpha male. (My favorite kind of hero!) And Rena is a strong, independent female. 

I liked both characters and the realness to them. I was drawn to them and I wanted to know their story. Neither one of them had the best lives growing up. They had endured things in life but it made them the people we see. They don't feel sorry for themselves but they're strong because of it. It was enjoyable watching their walls come down as they got to know each other. Life wasn't picket fences and 2.5 kids but real life. Sometimes not so good but they started realizing what they meant to each other. 

Of course, it's not all rainbows and butterflies with them but their relationship was enjoyable to watch and I wanted them to make it! This seemed like a fast book because I couldn't put it down. And it's quite hot! The chemistry between them was palpable and they couldn't stay away. They were drawn to each other. 

Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Katy Evans, Jessica Lemmon’s irresistible Lost Boys series kicks off with the story of a good girl who plays by the rules—and the bad boy who brings out her wild side.

Devlin Calvary makes his own luck. Orphaned as a young child, he was taken in by a crew of bookies and gamblers—and they became his family. They’re the reason Dev’s running a trendy bistro, living in a high rise, and enjoying the good life with a string of women who never ask for too much. Until, one night, he finds out how much it hurts to trust the wrong people. . . .

Rena Lewis sticks to the straight and narrow, determined not to slip up again . . . like the terrible night of partying four years ago that ended in tragedy. A waitress at Oak & Sage, she knows that sleeping with her boss is not a smart move. But when Dev shows up on her doorstep, beat up and clearly shaken, Rena’s not about to turn him down . . . or kick him out of bed.

Dev reawakens something primal within her—a need to go wild. And Rena soon finds out that the heart she’d sealed away years ago still has the power to fight for love.

Advance praise for Fighting for Devlin

“Sexy, emotional, and well written, Fighting for Devlin is a must-read for everyone who loves to watch a bad boy hero fall to his knees in the name of love.”—USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne

Praise for Jessica Lemmon

“An author to keep your eye on!”—New York Times bestselling author Katee Robert

“You’ll be adding Jessica Lemmon to your bookshelf for years to come!”—USA Today bestselling author Heidi Betts

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

No comments:

Post a Comment